Extremes of chennai – Plan for a Photowalk

I was feeling tired and bored at office. So started browsing through the photos posted in the “I luv chennai” group in facebook and was fascinated by the way they were taken. Suddenly a thought flashed in my mind, why not to go roam around chennai for the whole day and capture whatever we encounter. I immediately called my cousin sister(doing her B.Sc Electronic Media) and shared my thought. She immediately agreed and we decided to do a ground work on this when I return from office. Then I started browsing the photos again. Then I continued browsing through the photos in a faster pace. But suddenly my hand stopped clicking the mouse and I pressed the back button to go to the previous photo. I was surprised to see the photo. It was nothing but “vanishing piers” of “Talanguppam”. Suddenly I got a feeling is this really in chennai or somebody posted this photo by mistake in this place. But the name seemed to posses a tamil or a malayalam origin.
Start
The next step is obvious…..Google where this place is……OMG, this is part of north chennai near ennore….I have been to ennore only once as part of Industrial visit during my college days. Then I opened google maps to exactly spot the location. It is then I strongly decided to cover this place as part of the photo walk we gonna do that week end.


I shared my thoughts about talanguppam, with my sister and then she told me that she had already heard about this place from her friend. She immediately said this is part of our plan. Then we started jotting down the list of places we gonna cover as part of the photowalk. Talanguppam, Kasimedu, Royapuram, chennai central, city center, thiruneer malai, mamallapuram, and list goes on and on. Then we came to a mutual agreement that the list was exhaustive and cannot be accomplished in a day. Then we decided to stick on to the coastal chennai and obviously by now you would have guessed our starting point. Yes our plan was to start our photowalk from Talanguppam from north chennai and proceed till mamallapuram (south of Chennai).

StartWe prepared a excel sheet with a table of places in our plan, distance and the travel time in bike. The photo walk was planned on that Sunday. So we had enough time on Saturday to plan. I started browsing for the routes and the distance in the Google maps. We also have to decide about where we gonna have our breakfast and lunch. My sister then reminded about the TV commercial for glucose where the sun sips out the liquid from the boy’s head through a straw. We know about chennai’s hot weather(furnace). We procured few glucose sachets and energy bars to keep up our energy levels and to avoid dehydration.

Start
The other thing is the glucose for my bike….Yeah I fueled my bike for Rs.500 and this is one of the few times when the needle of my bike’s fuel indicator has touched the right most extreme. All ready set go for the next day morning. We planned to go to bed a bit early as it is going to be a long day. I set the alarm in my phone to 3:30AM. Our plan was to start by 4:00 AM in the morning and our first destination is Talanguppam.

To be continued in my next post…..

Leave a comment